Pain demands to be felt

I watched a sad movie awhile back called, The Fault in Our Stars. It was great but good Lord, bring you one of those carry in your pocket tissue packets.

This past year, I went through my own personal pain—both physically and emotionally, and now by the grace of God (and a good doctor), I find my pain to be very minimal. Hopefully, it stays this way? I mean, was it as simple as new medication? Why couldn’t this have been done for me in Colorado? Why didn’t my previous doctor care for me and examine me as deeply as my new doctor did? Before, there were days I could barely move properly without feeling intense pain anywhere– even after taking medicine and changing my life style. There was definitely a purpose, but it was as if the pain wasn’t going to leave until it taught me something. I finally feel like I’ve walked out of my own little tunnel with minor injuries, just enough to never let me forget that pain—demands to be felt—but, to also be learned from. It was more an emotional learning for me than anything.

Internal, emotional pain– it sucks doesn’t it? I don’t have all the answers as to why we go through pain, but I do know that God is there . . . and He says these things:

“And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you” (1 Peter 5:10) and, “I will not cause pain without allowing something new to be born, says the Lord” (Isaiah 66:9) and  that there is a time for just about everything read in Ecclesiastes (Chapter 3: 1-8).

We all know that emotional pain can stem from just about anything: broken hearts, lost loved ones, abandoned children, death, diseases, war . . . I could indefinitely go on. Does pain stop once it’s taught us something? I haven’t the slightest clue, because sometimes it’s as if certain pain is curable and sometimes the pain is forever. Pain is so darn confusing sometimes. I didn’t think I’d wake up today having to answer a 4-th graders question, “So, are we at war with ISIS?” Not knowing if his parents talk to him about this or not, I proceeded with caution and answered the best way I could. All the while, I’m thinking about the ISIS articles I had just read about parents being held at gunshot while their children had just been snatched from their grip on a bus.

And then, pain demanded to be felt. I just swallowed and closed my eyes while my mind wandered to different things: ISIS killing dozens of people all at once, flashes of children’s eyes filled with fear, our soldiers fighting for our freedom, and then back to the sweet kid in front of me whose mother was on his way to pick him up. It’s painful because though you realize just how fortunate you are, you think about the ones who are not and there’s just no certain way to . . . justify it? That’s the best word I can come up with. But then . . . my heart fills with a hope that is only found in the grace and love of the One who says, “For I the Lord love justice; I hate robbery and wrong; I will faithfully give them their recompense, and I will make an everlasting covenant with them,” (Isaiah 61:8) and, “Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer” (Romans 12:12). We can do that. In the midst of our pain, we can be patient and prayerful to God, and have all the hope in the world that He is at work in our lives and in the world.

The truth is pain is inevitable. And sometimes, it demands to be felt and no matter how hard we try to suppress it or even ignore it by using chemicals from pills or alcoholic drinks or comfort food, it will always come back. We might as well confront the pain, go through the pain, learn from the pain, and always, always keep the hope, because in the end (no matter what pain we go through) God always wins–and He’s the good guy.

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand”  (Isaiah 41:10).

21 thoughts on “Pain demands to be felt

  1. roweeee

    Hi Savannah,
    Thank you very much for visiting my blog, Beyond the Flow. I am enjoying our blog and meeting another kindred spirit.
    I have pondered why I developed two very rare, life-threatening disease before I’d turned 40 and it was a source of a lot of anger. Felt for awhile that God was striking me down with something like bolts of lightening. Zap! Then a voice which I felt was Jesus spoke to me and said if it was good enough for him, it was good enough for me. I found that humbling. I now know that God is walking with us through all our ups and downs as in the Footprints poem. We still die in this life and we go through pain and hardships but we also have joy, love, hope. We have a bad day but that will pass and a new day will dawn. Perhaps not immediately or as quickly as we’d like but it usually does. I really also believe in the healing power of prayer.
    Love & God Bless from Sydney, Australia all the way over to Texas, which really does feel like it’s somewhere over the rainbow,
    Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    • Savannah Hardcastle

      Hi Rowena. Wow thank you for sharing..
      I love the foot prints poem.
      I believe in the healing power of prayer as well.
      I hope your life flourishes and you are feeling better everyday.
      Blessings, from Texas :) That is so neat you are in Sydney. . .must be beautiful.
      Enjoy your weekend.
      -Sav

      Liked by 1 person

    • roweeee

      Thanks so much for those blessings Sav. I just put up a post about a ferry ride around Sydney Harbour with lots of photos showing the harbour from angles you don’t see on postcards. I particularly like going underneath the Sydney Harbour Bridge and seeing it from a different perspective like in Dead Poet’s Society. No doubt very different to Texas.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ms Nyagah

    I watched that movie yesterday, and boy, did I cry….! I was almost competing with the characters in the crying business. But I felt their pain, because I have been there too, in pain, and when the pain subsides, you wonder how long it will be before you feel it again. And then the emotional toll…. But I thank God coz I have emerged a stronger person.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emusedone

    Thank you for a beautifully written reminder of how God is always with us. In pain, health, whatever our situation is. It’s so good to read from writers who understand the journey some of us are on & still keep their Faith strong if not stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. T

    Hi Savannah, I followed you here via your likes on my blog, thank you so much for coming by and also for the follow. I am glad I come over here because this post hits home for me in so many ways and fits with the year I just had. I am looking forward to reading more of your posts. God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Preston Rentz

    Hi Savannah, it’s been a while, but it’s great to hear from you again. Your post raises many questions of which there are no easy answers. It reminds me of God being the potter and us being the clay; understand it or not, it’s going to hurt. But to the point you made well; with God it’s somehow worth it. He alone makes us smile again. I’m reminded of what I appreciate about your voice the most; unscripted, non-preachy and remarkably real. Keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Savannah Hardcastle

      Hi Preston, indeed- God alone makes us smile again.
      Thanks for that, I try to hone in on my center of just being real– there’s no other way to write for me. I’ve learned that over the years of this blog. What you stated is exactly what I hope comes across the most in my writing. Thanks again :)
      Good to hear from you too,
      -Sav

      Like

  6. Marianne

    Beautifully said, Savannah. Pain may be experienced but it was never meant to live in us. I am grateful that yours has subsided.

    My experience has taught me that experiencing everybody’s pain can create in us our own pain body. The buildup of the world’s pain can break us down. The more sensitive a person is, a greater lesson must be learned. It is important (and this is something I just learned) to be discriminative with our hearts, with our emotions. There is a way, a spiritual way that is of God, to be able to feel or express compassion without absorbing and holding on to the pain of another. It is a fine line, but must be learned in order to remain viable for God.

    Prosper and be in good health, my dear, even as your soul prospers. And thank you for those scripture verses…I’ll be contemplating them this morning.

    Hugs,
    Marianne

    Like

Leave your voice here!

