These two things made me fall on my face, yet more in love with love

This past year (2014) a couple things happened, were said, done, and felt. All these different things however made me grow more in love. I love love. Is it not the best feeling? I love learning more about God’s love and growing in it. I usually write to music and tonight’s music belongs to Steffany’s – No Fear in Love.

The first thing is a family situation I had no control over. I love and care for this person deeply. I thought I could change what this person was doing, because in God’s word what this person is doing is wrong. Naturally, I thought that as a Christian I was supposed to tell this person what God says about it in His word continuously until that point got across.
Welp, the only thing that accomplished was resentment and a long separation— and I hated it. I was at that point of falling on my face because of all the lies from them in the beginning. I became the icy, cold, queen Elsa and got to the point where if I never talked to this person again in my life, well, that was just the way it was going to be. I lived in Colorado during this period as well so it made things extra icy-er. I may as well have built my own ice palace on a mountain hike of bitterness but God had other plans. Instead, I learned that I needed to love this person continually no matter what pain and without conditions. Though this doesn’t mean I give up my beliefs about Gods word, it does mean I stop condemning not just outwardly but also in my heart. So I’ve stopped doing that. It works all for the better because quite simply, that’s what God says to do.

I learned that loving unconditionally means showing love no matter what your differences are with people. I refuse to believe that in order to show love to people, you need to lay down all personal beliefs from God’s word. Trust me, love is enough without having to give up your faith in what God says about something. I learned the impossible is possible in the most incredible of ways. God’s love is enough.

I think that if we do everything in life with love in our hearts we can never really fail (especially when it comes to our differences). Anyways, it was a long road coming but I feel we’ve gotten to a decent place now. Though we have our disagreements on things, we’ll never stop loving each other just because we have them. Just as I can’t change their beliefs, they can’t and shouldn’t want to change mine. I’m just supposed to love and that’s simple enough for me. We hug, laugh and love each other just like we always did. Love really does conquer all. “Most important of all, continue to show deep love for each other, for love covers a multitude of sins” (1 Peter 4:8). Below is a great quote by Mr. Rick Warren that is quite fitting to end my little point on this.

“Our culture has accepted two huge lies. The first is that if you disagree with someone’s lifestyle, you must fear or hate them. The second is that to love someone means you agree with everything they believe or do. Both are nonsense. You don’t have to compromise convictions to be compassionate.”

The second thing is disease. What in the world? How does disease make you fall more in love with love? Well firstly, this one really did make me fall on my face— in my kitchen in Colorado. But besides those moments of physical weakness most the time I’ve always known God has been with me through it all. I love Him so much for that. Sure I still get these pains and those pains, I still take medications and I’m getting so used to needle injections I stopped feeling them, but I’ve learned throughout it all how to be content. Content with sickness?! Blasphemy! Nope, just content in life. Being grateful and just knowing that I’m okay because I know God is bigger than illness. I’ve kind of gotten to the point where I’m focused less about getting healed right now and more focused on what I’m doing in the now that gives glory to God, such as being thankful. Having a thankful heart gives us a chance to see God’s goodness and we can give Him glory (2 Corinthians 4:15). I strive to do that more.

I think sometimes we lose the chance of being there for people in their times of deep pain because we’re trying so hard to heal them “quickly”.  I want to be the person that’s there for people walking alongside them, holding their hand. Knowing this different kind of struggle has made me more in love with showing love and compassion to others who suffer. We need more compassion. 

We were already told by Jesus we’d be faced with troubles in this world (John 16:33) and sometimes those things suck, but it gets a heck of a lot easier knowing that nothing can touch our souls, and that God has promised us a spiritual security for all of eternity (John 10:27-28). Thank you, God. Isn’t that a good feeling?

To be in love with Christ is quite possibly the greatest love of all. No, it is the greatest love of all. This past year I could have easily veered off the good road. I could have built my own ice palace and stayed there making snow castles. Would I have glorified God in that place? Probably not and my snowman wouldn’t of liked warm hugs. Would I have known this more intimate love I have for God if I had let sickness take over my soul? Most likely not. The thing is as we grow older we learn more about the things in life that truly mean the world to us like showing love to others, glorifying God and being with family. We do these things all the while keeping wisdom close to us, His Holy Spirit within us and having thankfulness in our hearts (Colossians 3:16). We learn that no matter what raging storm life throws our way, Gods always in the boat with us. We’re going to have differences with people in life, but this does not mean we cannot love each other despite those differences. It’s called not casting stones— just don’t do it (John 8:7). Love is a much more profound route to take. At least, that’s what I’ve learned this past year. I’d love to live the 70+ years I have left on this earth in this way. But more than anything, I’ve learned that you can fall in love with God even more so in your trying times. And though you may totally face plant right on your face on your kitchen floor, God will pick you up, wipe the hairs off your face and walk with you again and again, every time. His love never fails.

“In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another” (1 John 4:9-11).

43 thoughts on “These two things made me fall on my face, yet more in love with love

  1. ashleyeharvey

    You write so well. I’m so excited to have joined your drop. Amazing truth God is with us all the time, through it all. I struggle grasping that, especially through the challenge.

    I loved this

    “Be more focused on what I’m doing in the now that gives glory to God, such as being thankful.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dvaal

    I loved this music and intend to download it. Your statement -Content with sickness -I am content in my pain, so I completely felt what you were writing. Thank you for bringing your words to my life. I will pray for you.
    fiddledeedeebooks.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Savannah Hardcastle

      I appreciate that more than you know, Gaylie. I could really use some prayer for my health– my joint pain is everyday and my exhaustion increases rapidly.
      Is there anything I may pray for you about?
      Much love. Have a great weekend.
      -Sav

      Liked by 1 person

    • ghayliethoughts

      I don’t exactly know the pain you’re going through but our hope is in Jesus. From this side of the globe, I want you to know someone cares enough to pray for you. The Lord’s hand is not short to save nor His ears deaf to hear. Let’s hold only to Him. Just pray whatever the Holy Spirit leads you to (about me). :D It will be appreciated. Much love in Christ, Gay.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Savannah Hardcastle

      Hellooooo! 2015 has been a journey. I am finding myself in awe with God more and more, and just pressing into Him wholly when I find myself in times of doubt. I started a job in a hospital and it’s a pretty big job. . .I am blessed, and then I am wondering where/ how God wants me to touch people in this field? I often miss my work with special needs children. . .I have dreams of traveling to China still and working underprivileged children and orphans. Then I think, perhaps God is still holding that in His hands, but He is currently providing me with the means to do that sort of thing (financial wise). I have been saving a lot.
      I am SO happy to hear you’re enjoying your reading here. It’s pretty open and transparent. :o)
      How is your 2015 going?
      I hope your weekend was relaxing and fruitful.
      -Sav

      Liked by 1 person

  3. moderndaywarriorprincess

    Savannah, thank you for another amazing post that spoke to me on a spiritual level and also surprised me how I have also dealt with similar issues this past year.
    I also love the song that you shared. I also had to learn to love someone in my family as they repeatedly did something against God’s word and that was hurtful to myself and others. It was very difficult to keep showing love when I saw the hurt this person’s actions caused to others. I am so blessed and grateful that God reached my family member and convicted them of the sin they were committing. I know that it was answer to prayer when the person ended the sinful behavior and decided to come back to God.
    I have also faced new illnesses and progressions in medical issues I have had for years this year that were a struggle to accept as God’s will in my life. I had to realize that I would not be given the medical challenges in my life if I was not already equipped by God to handle these changes in my life. Once I was able to accept what is I found God using me to help others in similar situations and also filling me with love and spiritual growth from these encounters.
    Thank you again for your wonderful blog and openness about your stumbles and your growth in the last year. I also have found a new song to add to collection. I pray that you are repeatedly blessed in this new year and beyond.
    -Andrea

    Liked by 1 person

    • Savannah Hardcastle

      I am praying for you, Andrea. . .it seems we both have been learning things in the new year. I am so glad.
      Blessings and hugs to you. He has never left you nor forsaken you. . .and I am so glad you know that, no matter what illness you go through.
      -Sav

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

    It’s good Savannah that you don’t hold onto bitterness and resentment, it just poisons us when we do but that does not mean we have to accept the wrong people do and say but we don’t seek revenge, we continue to Love them as you are doing but also as God tells us we do not fellowship with those who continue to do wrong …Scripture confirms bad company corrupts good Character.

    Why do we warn others who do wrong because we Love them, it is not good to watch Satan get a stronghold on them, it means they are separated from God and He does not hear them but how we rebuke them is most important, it’s with God’s Truth not a fleshy agenda.

    John 9: 31 Now we know that God heareth not sinners: but if any man be a worshipper of God, and doeth His will, him He heareth.

    Psalm 66 18 If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me:

    All Scripture n is given by inspiration of God and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the Man/Woman of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works. (KJV)

    Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne

    Liked by 1 person

  5. brittanynicolexoxo

    LOVE THIS!! <3 I relate to every single thing you wrote about in this post. Just what I needed to be reminded to love everyone even if we have our differences, and to not let an illness separate me from God. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. neversaydi237

    Yes, I totally agree…His love is enough, and we just need to be clear not only in deed, but mind and heart as well.

    No simple task with the pressures of the world…for sure. I’m finding that letting people be and like you, focusing on my own stuff that I can change; (instead of worrying about how I can change them, I take time to just lead my life with the joy and happiness He wants for all of us and hang on the positive side) it really helps me to keep going forward. :) Be well and blessed!

    Awesome post, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wendell A. Brown

    I must say, that your message shows a wonderful blossoming within your heart and spirit! The last few weeks the poems that come seem to speak of the greatest love we know…Gods! God is love, and when we accept by faith his love it fills us each day, I like you battle the demons of MS and a variety of things, and yet I remain strong spiritually. One day I will leave the flesh cell and my spirit will still live…(our second birth), and God will be there with us with His love!. Love is important in all we do, when we share our love to others, it fertilizes His seed of love within us, energizing our spirits, and our hearts! That energy attracts more people who will want to know how they the glow which appears in your smile, your eyes and your face, the way you walk confidently…be theirs! I smile as I write, because dear sister, you have come a very long way, and though we have further to go, we have chosen a path of faith in His love. I look forward to seeing you write more, because I know what you share will always be a genuine blessing from your selfless heart! Hugs and blessings always Savannah!! Here is one of the poems I first wrote to God in 1972;

    A Love Who Won’t Let Me Be ( God)

    You light the fire within my heart
    Causing tiny embers to become ablaze
    Filling my world with Your love’s glow
    And sweeping my lost mind away

    For every time that I look at You
    All over again I start to descend
    For I am touched so deeply by You
    That in love I am swept away again

    And I start once more to feel the way I felt
    That great day when we first did meet
    While Your love still overwhelms me
    Each day knocking me right off my feet

    And the fire is still fanned so daily
    That has a home deep inside of me
    And I still become a willing slave always
    To Your true love who will never let me be

    Wendell A. Brown

    Liked by 1 person

    • Savannah Hardcastle

      And Wendell, though you battle MS and your spiritual journey is still strong, is something that will continue to inspire me! Thanks for the kind words, the uplifting spirit, and many blessings to you brother.
      Thanks for sharing that lovely poem of yours. I hope others who stumble across this post may read that.
      -Sav! :)

      Liked by 1 person

    • moderndaywarriorprincess

      Hello Wendelll, I am Andrea and your poem was deeply moving to me. I also felt inspiration from your words and I pray that I will feel God’s love inside my spirit as you described it. I admit I have had several times this year that I did not allow God’s love to fan the glowing embers, from the fire the day before, to fire daily this year (and many other times in my life) despite quest for spiritual growth.

      May I please print your poem for my own private use to place in my room to inspire me to seek such a Godly fire daily in me. It speaks to me because it speaks to one of my chronic illnesses, Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy/Complex Regional Pain Syndrome(RSD/CRPS). RSD/CRPS feels like I am in constant debilitating burning pain that tends to be a reminder of limitations and disability that this syndrome has caused. Your poem could be an inspiration to try and allow God’s light from the fire made of His love to shine through all that each day.

      I hope to get to know you better through your blog and pray that you remain strong in your spiritual life and for strength as you deal with your own medical issues.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. rolerrol

    You have been through so much in 2014 Savannah but God is true and faithful. He has brought you into a new year with new understanding, deeper revelation of walking in love and trusting Him!
    It’s a new year yes, but our God is the same! He got you through last year and He will do the same for you this year and much more…..! He is so good….and seeing God’s faithfulness to you is so inspiring and encouraging! Keep looking to Him and keep loving!
    God bless you…😀

    Rolain

    Liked by 1 person

    • Savannah Hardcastle

      Thank you, thank you brother. God has really hit the roots of my heart lately. And I’m loving every second of it.
      Sure I’ve hit the floor a couples times, but what’s life w/out a couple stumbles eh?! ;) I’m just glad I’ve learned and became better because of them, and didn’t stay on the ground.
      Blessings,
      -Sav :)

      Liked by 1 person

  9. roweeee

    Hi Savannah,
    Sounds like you’ve really been pushing through a lot of stuff and hiking cross country up that mountain but you’re making progress. Ideally, God will touch their heart and bring out change or maybe they will suddenly wake up.
    I don’t know whether you have heard about a compassion blogathon of sorts which is taking place on 20th February on ther UN Day of Social Justice. I outlined the details here:https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/01/19/bloggers-unite-for-a-better-world-1000-voices-speak-for-compassion/
    I didn’t organise it but have got onboard and am spreading the word. I think it’s a great opportunity to put good back out into the world and share the sort of compassion Jesus had for others xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    • Savannah Hardcastle

      My post kind of came at perfect timing for that! I will look into it. Thank you, friend.
      Yes, the Lord has been helping me all the way though, pushing me, resting with me, and then pulling me up again. He’s the best.
      Much love!!
      -Sav

      Like

  10. Marianne

    There’s a verse in Isaiah…”And your children shall be taught by the Lord, and GREAT shall be the peace of your children.” I think this suits you perfectly, Savannah. You are a living testimony to this verse.

    Blessings for fulfillment of every one of your hearts desires,
    Marianne xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Savannah Hardcastle

      Marianne :), I have missed writing SO much <3
      Thank you for leaving your kind words again. They mean so much. I am now going to write that verse in my prayer journal. Thank you.
      I am finishing school in 3 weeks, so one of those hearts desires are being met very soon!! ;)
      Blessings & warm hugs to you,
      -Sav

      Like

Leave your voice here!

